Steve Hanson
NCBA Federation Division Chairman

Steve operates a family farm and ranch in southwest Nebraska with his son, the fifth generation on that farm. He feeds out the calves they raise with grain grown on the farm. He is starting his fifth year on the Nebraska Beef Council after being elected by producers in his region. Industry involvement includes serving on the Freedom to operate committee, global growth committee, currently starting a fourth term on Beef Promotion Operating committee, and serving on the evaluation committee. He is also on the executive committee serving as the federation Region 7 vice president representative.  Steve was elected chairman of the Nebraska Beef Council, is a member of the Nebraska Cattlemen and the local affiliate. He has served on local church and school boards as well as the Nebraska Ethanol Board, Midwest Electric Board and Tri State Generation and Transmission.   

Jerry Effertz
NCBA Federation Division Vice Chairman

Effertz and his wife, Norma, operate Black Butte Acres Limousin Ranch, raising seedstock Limousin cattle and backgrounding feeder calves. To educate people about the cattle business and stewardship of the land, they also operate Black Butte Adventures, which includes hiking and biking trails as well as farm tours. Effertz, the third generation of his family to own and operate their farm and ranch, also served in leadership positions in state and national beef industry organizations, including the North Dakota Beef Commission, U.S. Meat Export Federation, and several beef checkoff committees.   

Federation Members of the Beef Promotion Operating Committee (BPOC)

The Federation chair and vice chair always serve on the BPOC. The other eight Federation members are elected by the Federation’s Board of Directors. BPOC members serve one-year terms and are eligible to be nominated to run for subsequent terms. No member shall serve more than six consecutive terms.

Steve Hanson, NE, Vice Chair and Federation Chair

Jerry Effertz, ND, Federation Vice Chair

Austin Brown, TX

Clay Burtrum, OK

Dawn Caldwell, NE

Brent Buckley HI

Gary Deering SD

Barb Downey KS

Scott McGregor, IA

Kristin Larson, MT

NCBA Executive Committee - Federation Division

Region I

Bill Sexten, OH

Region II

Donna Jo Curtis, AL

Region III

Katie Brenny, MN

Region IV

Weldon Wynn, AR

Region V

Dan Hinman, ID

Region VI

Linda Brake, AZ 

Region VII

Barb Downey, KS




Beef Council Revenue Seats


Mark Harms, KBC, (3 yr)


Buck Wehrbein, NBC, (2 yr)


Steven Swenson, TXBC, (3 yr)



Advisory Leadership - Federation Advisory Council

This committee consists of state beef council executive directors, who provide insight about state issues to Federation leadership:

Patti Brumbach, WA, Chair

George Quackenbush, MI, Vice Chair

Valerie Bass, TN, Past Chair

Nancy Jo Bateman, ND

Bridget Bingham, PA

Ann Marie Bosshammer, NE

Chaley Harney, MT

Bill Dale, CA

Richard Wortham, TX

Karin Schaefer, MN

Federation information on this page funded by the Beef Checkoff.

"NCBA is on Capitol Hill...

...taking care of our needs while we are out in the fields taking care of our animals and our land."

Become a Member

Tony Turri