News Releases

Date: 1/12/2007

Title: CME Scholarship Winners Announced

DENVER - Twenty outstanding students pursuing careers in the beef industry have each been awarded a $1,500 scholarship provided by the Chicago Mercantile Exchange, Inc. (CME) and the National Cattlemen’s Foundation (NCF).  The CME has sponsored this scholarship program for 17 years.

Each scholarship winner wrote a 750-word essay that identified key issues confronting the beef industry and suggested possible ways of dealing with those issues.

The overall scholarship winner, Ben Williams of Logansport, Ind., was awarded an all-expense-paid trip to the 2007 Cattle Industry Annual Convention and Trade Show in Nashville, where he will be recognized during the National Cattlemen’s Beef Association Awards Program Lunch on February 3. 

Williams is a junior at Kansas State University in Manhattan, Kan.  Williams’ award winning essay discussed animal traceability.  As a student, the award will allow him to take advantage of every opportunity possible to gain a better and broader understanding of the cattle industry.

The additional 19 scholarship recipients were:

Travis  Arp

Arlington, Wis.

University of Missouri - Columbia

Cassie Bacon

Prairie Grove, Ark.

Oklahoma State University

Bryce Cameron Borror

Gerber, Calif.

Colorado State University

William "Shamus" Brown III

Graettinger, Iowa

Iowa State University

Krista Cooprider

Chico, Calif.

California State University, Chico

Hyatt  Frobose

Pemberville, Ohio

Butler Community College

Callie Hyde

Chiloquin, Ore.

Oregon State University

Tina Krafft

Phillipsburg, Kan.

Kansas State University

Katlin Ilene Mulvaney

Opelika, Ala.

Auburn University

Will Osborn

Tuttle, Okla.

Amber-Pocasset High School

Toby Pollock

Berthoud, Colo.

Colorado State University

Tera Rooney

Satanta, Kan.

Satanta High School

Adam James Sawyer

Bassett, Neb.

Rock County High School

Kevin Shaffer

Philippi, W.V.

West Virginia University

Jonathan Smelcer

Seymour, Tenn.

University of Tennessee

Justin Spengler

Woodsfield, Ohio

Ohio State Univ. Agricultural Technical Institute

Kathryn Louise Teixeira

Nipomo, Calif.

California Polytechnic State University

Andrew Vickers

El Dorado Springs, Mo.

El Dorado Springs High School

Jason Zwilling

Viola, Ill.

Lake Land College

NCBA Media Contacts

Ed Frank
Send an email


Max Moncaster
Send an email


Join NCBA today and receive member benefits from John Deere, Cabela's and so much more! 

Join Now

For membership information, contact NCBA at 1-866-BEEF-USA or

"We truly feel the NCBA... a grassroots organization and there is power in numbers. Where else have you been part of a crowd of 6,000 people who salute the flag and say prayer before an annual conference?"

Become a Member

Kris Vincent
Ohio Rancher