News Releases

Date: 1/7/2008

Title: Beef Industry Scholarship Winners Announced

DENVER - Ten outstanding students pursuing careers in the beef industry have each been awarded a $1,500 scholarship provided by the CME Group and the National Cattlemen’s Foundation.  The CME Group has sponsored this scholarship program for 18 years.

Each scholarship winner wrote a 750-word essay that identified key issues confronting the beef industry, and suggested possible ways of dealing with those issues.

The overall scholarship winner, Rebecca Tokach of Manhattan, Kan.,was awarded an all-expense-paid trip to the 2008 Cattle Industry Annual Convention and Trade Show in Reno, where she will be recognized during the National Cattlemen’s Beef Association Awards Program Lunch on Feb. 9. Tokach is a junior at Kansas State University in Manhattan, Kan. As a student, the award will allow her to take advantage of every opportunity possible to gain a better and broader understanding of the cattle industry.

The additional nine scholarship recipients are:

Annie Doerr

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Mollie Dorrance

Colorado State University

Clinton Laflin

Eureka Kansas High School

Bryan Edward Luark

Colorado State University

Elise Marchant

Oakley Idaho High School

Amanda Nolz

South Dakota State University

Jared Williams

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

J.W. Wood

Colorado State University

Jason Zwilling

Oklahoma State University

We are very proud to be partnering with the CME Group to offer young people the opportunity to advance their careers in the beef industry,” noted Bob Josserand, chairman of the National Cattlemen’s Foundation Board of Trustees.

NCBA Media Contacts

Ed Frank
Send an email


Max Moncaster
Send an email


Join NCBA today and receive member benefits from John Deere, Cabela's and so much more! 

Join Now

For membership information, contact NCBA at 1-866-BEEF-USA or

"I'm a NCBA member...

...because this organization is determined to preserve this way of life that we have all grown to love."

Become a Member

Sara Harris