News Releases

Date: 2/5/2009

Title: First-Annual NCBA Youth Contest Winners Announced

PHOENIX - The National Cattlemen’s Beef Association (NCBA) announces the winners of the first-annual youth contests, held during the 2009 Cattle Industry Convention and NCBA Trade Show in Phoenix, Ariz., on Jan. 28-31. The programs, for young people ages nine to young adult, are focused on education, leadership and teamwork. NCBA Youth contests included Team Marketing, Beef Quiz Bowl, Prepared Public Speaking and Cattle Judging.

The Team Marketing contest had seven teams compete with 19 total contestants.  The senior team winner’s were from the Florida Cattlemen’s Association: Phillip Horvath, Tara Harrison, Victoria Horvath, and the collegiate team winners were from Colorado State University: Cheyenne Dixon, Alicia Miller, Jolynn Sakugawa. The purpose of the Team Marketing Contest is to encourage teamwork while promoting development of communication skills, marketing techniques and an understanding of cattle performance information.

The Beef Quiz Bowl, which offers opportunities to demonstrate knowledge related to the cattle industry, had four teams competing. The first-place team represented the Florida Cattlemen’s Association: Cody Corson, Thomas Richmond, J.K. Yarborough, and Brittany Warren.

The Prepared Public Speaking contest stimulates interest in leadership through presentation skills. Fifteen contestants competed in three age groups: Under 10, 11-14 and 15-19. The winners were: Justis Marshall, Burlington, Colo. (10 and under), Steven Bigelow, Duncan, Ariz. (11-14), and Kaitlyn Gill, Lithia, Fla. (15-19).

The Cattle Judging contest included a Novice Division (under age 9 or, if it's their first judging contest, under age 11); Junior Division (ages 9-14); Senior Division (ages 14 to 19); and College Division. A total of 60 contestants competed in the four categories. The winners were:

Collegiate - 10 contestants

1st High Team Overall - Colorado State University: Dominic DiSanti, JW Wood, Mandy Meyers, Elizabeth McManus, Aaric Sieke

1st High Individual Overall – Dominic DiSanti from Colorado State University

Senior - 35 contestants

1st High Team Overall - North American South Devon team: Cody Doubet, Curtis Doubet, Lane Giess, Laddy Trehal

1st High Individual Overall – Curtis Doubet, North American South Devon

Junior - 8 contestants (judged as individuals, no teams)

1st High Individual Overall: Ty Gatlin, Reserve, N.M.

Novice - 7 contestants (judged as individuals, no teams)

1st High Individual Overall - Jake Edleman, Willow Lake, S.D.

The youth contests were coordinated by the National Cattlemen's Beef Association (NCBA) and exclusively sponsored by a grant from The Farm Credit System Foundation.

NCBA Media Contacts

Ed Frank
Send an email


Max Moncaster
Send an email


Join NCBA today and receive member benefits from John Deere, Cabela's and so much more! 

Join Now

For membership information, contact NCBA at 1-866-BEEF-USA or

National Cattlemen

The official publication of NCBA provides timely news articles about the issues and events affecting the beef industry.

Subscribe to National Cattlemen